July 26, 2010

FREE Webinar: Selecting and Recommending Inspirational Fiction

Inspirational and Christian fiction are tremendously popular genres, but what sort of books are found beneath the arc of these broad terms? For a lively overview of the rich inspirational spectrum, a look at the latest trends, and scoops on forthcoming titles, sign up for this free webinar from Booklist.

SELECTING AND RECOMMENDING INSPIRATIONAL FICTION
Hosted by Booklist
Date: Tuesday, August 10
Time:2:00p Eastern/1:00p Central/12:00p Mountain/11:00a Pacific

For more information and to reserve your seat, visit the Booklist Webinar page.

July 1, 2010

NCLA Member Library Celebrates 50th Anniversary

Fifty years ago Calvary Lutheran Church in Golden Valley, Minnesota was blessed to have a far-sighted church council who saw a need for a church library. Read the amazing 50-year story of Calvary’s Library Ministry in a 3-part series by Librarian Marlys Johnson, as published in the church newsletter, Calvary Calls:

Part 1 (see page 19)

Part 2 (see page 20)

Part 3 (see page 16)

Congratulations on 50 years of library ministry!

NCLA Chapter News

NCLA’s California Sierra-Central Valley Chapter enjoyed an interesting and informative meeting on April 24, at St. John’s Lutheran Church in Sacramento. Speaker for the event was former TV reporter Ginger Rutland who presented her mother’s book, When we were Colored, a Mother’s Story.

First published in 1964, and reissued in 2007, it is the story of the author’s life in the years before integration, before affirmative action, when segregation was the norm, discrimination was legally tolerated, and blacks were second-class citizens (from the book’s introduction). Eva went on to write dozens of books and inspired her daughter Ginger to follow a communications career track which includes writing editorials and television reporting.

The chapter’s fall meeting included member book talks, a library tour, and guest speaker Rev. Norris Burkes who spoke on his experiences as a hospital and military chaplain, and made available copies of his book, No Small Miracles.

NCLA’s Minnesota Lake Superior Chapter met April 17 at Grace Lutheran Church in Hermantown. Guest speaker Bonnie Jahr joined the group to present her thoughts on the book, The Fruit of the Spirit – Becoming the Person God Wants You to Be, by Thomas Trask and Wayde Goodall (Zondervan 2000, Kindle edition 2010). Trask and Goodall’s book seeks to teach readers the biblical basics and call to demonstrate the fruits of God's spirit to make a deeper impact on the watching world (from the publisher).

Following the speaker’s comments, the group had fun discovering which treasures they would take home from a silent auction—new and gently used books, home d├ęcor, jewelry and baked goods, all donated and brought in by members of the chapter.